Save or Splurge: Eyeshadow Primers

Four products all claiming to do the same thing. They each are supposed to make eyeshadow go on smoother and last longer. Which one works best? Should you spend the money on high end or go drugstore? Let’s find out!

I’ve tested and used every single one of these. For the longest time I only used the Urban Decay Primer Potion because it’s what I knew. This one lives up to every expectation. It applies smoothly and makes my eyeshadow stay on all day. One downfall is that it’s twenty dollars but it does last for quite a while. The next one I tried after that was the Too Faced Shadow insurance. I must say that I love this one as well. One complaint is that the texture can be watery and it’s on the pricy side at twenty dollars. Out of the two the Primer Potion is better. I finally decided to try a drugstore one. I went with the E.L.F Eyelid Primer and was highly disappointed. It doesn’t pick up any pigmentation of the eyeshadow and also doesn’t make it last all day. I disliked it so much I went back to just using my Urban Decay Primer Potion. Just the other day I picked up the Milani Eyeshadow Primer. It was the first Milani purchases I’ve made along with a blush. I’ve used it for a few days now and it is literally an exact replica of the Urban Decay Primer Potion. It’s a new favorite for sure!

So save or splurge? I will be honest and say save. The Milani Eyeshadow Primer is so much like the Primer Potion that it makes no sense to spend that much. I also think that the Milani primer is better than the Too Faced Shadow Insurance. As for the E.L.F Eyelid Primer don’t waste your money. Hope this was some sort of help! Swatches below of all the primers using the color Buzz from the Urban Decay Naked 3 Palette.

20140428-224810.jpg

20140428-224821.jpg

20140428-224828.jpg

One thought on “Save or Splurge: Eyeshadow Primers

  1. Hi thanks for the post. I’ll try the milani one for sure. I have very oily lids though so I normally have to top it up with mac paint pot 😦 even using urban decay or too faced eye primer.

Leave a comment